New Zealand

For statistical purposes, the term ‘New Zealand’ refers to ‘geographic New Zealand’. In addition to the North, South, Stewart, and Chatham islands, geographic New Zealand includes the following offshore islands: Kermadec Islands, Three Kings Islands, Mayor Island, Motiti Island, White Island, Moutohora Island, Bounty Islands, Snares Islands, Antipodes Islands, Auckland Islands, and Campbell Island. The Taranaki and Southland oil rigs are also included in New Zealand. For the purposes of the 2018 Census, counts of the number of males and females at Ross Dependency were recorded, but forms were not collected from these people. Geographic New Zealand does not include the Cook Islands, Niue, or the Tokelau Islands.