Industry Classification en-NZ
  • The objective of the industry classification is to identify groupings of businesses that carry out similar economic activities. The Australian and New Zealand Standard Industrial Classification (ANZSIC) 2006 is used in New Zealand IIP statistics. International comparability is maintained by the alignment of ANZSIC with the International Standard Industrial Classification of All Economic Activities (ISIC).

Data is published for the following divisions:

  1. Agriculture, Forestry and Fishing
  2. Mining
  3. Manufacturing
  4. Electricity, Gas, Water and Waste Services
  5. Construction
  6. Wholesale Trade
  7. Retail Trade
  8. Accommodation and Food Services
  9. Transport, Postal and Warehousing
  10. Information, Media and Telecommunications
  11. Financial and Insurance Services
  12. Rental, Hiring and Real Estate Services
  13. Professional, Scientific and Technical Services
  14. Administrative and Support Services
  15. Public Administration and Safety
  16. Education and Training
  17. Health care and Social Assistance
  18. Arts and Recreational Services
  19. Other Services BoP financial account data is collected on a consolidated basis. Where possible the top New Zealand enterprise of a group of enterprises in common ownership is surveyed and provides consolidated group data. The industry for foreign investment in New Zealand is determined by the enterprise in the group that has the most employees at the four digit ANZSIC level. This industry classification is then used to classify transactions with non-residents by all companies in the group. This same ANZSIC code is used for any overseas investments made by that parent enterprise or its New Zealand subsidiaries, thus New Zealand's investment overseas by industry is determined by the major industry of the New Zealand group.

Appears Within



View Full History
Revision Date Responsibility Rationale
2 30/11/2021 3:51:54 PM