Offence categories


How the most serious offence is determined in tables

An person's most serious offence is the one with the most severe sentence, measured by its sentence type and magnitude.

See Sentence types for information about how sentence types are ranked in the criminal conviction and sentencing tables.

Change of method for classifying offences

From 1 July 2010, all New Zealand justice sector statistics have classified offences using the Australian and New Zealand Standard Offence Classification (ANZSOC) method where appropriate.

In the past, each justice sector agency had its own method of categorising offences, which made it difficult to compare agency statistics. Such comparisons are now much easier using the common classification method.

See Australian and New Zealand Standard Offence Classification (ANZSOC), 2011 from the Australian Bureau of Statistics website for further information.

ANZSOC divisions

Offences under ANZSOC are classified into 16 divisions:

Same as

Revision Information

Currently viewing revision 7 by on 5/09/2019 3:51:34 a.m.

Revision 7 *
9/09/2019 1:16:10 a.m.
Revision 6
31/08/2017 1:15:21 a.m.
Revision 5
30/08/2017 3:32:44 a.m.


DDI Agency
DDI Version


DDI 3 Download

Select the languages to display